HAMPSHIRE COUNTY RETIREMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL Minutes of Business Meeting - December 16, 2013

The Hampshire County Retirement Advisory Council held a business meeting on December 16, 2013 at the Hotel Northampton in Northampton, MA. Chairman Lisa Banner called the meeting to order at 10:09 a.m.

The following Council members were present: Chairman Lisa Banner (Town of Belchertown), Mary Wallace (Amherst/Pelham Regional School District), Vice Chair Karen Karowski (Foothills Health District), Deborah Kuhn (Gateway Regional School District), Monica Walton (South Hadley Fire District #1), Claire McGinnis (Town of Amherst), Steve Nally (Town of Granby; South Hadley-Granby-Easthampton Veterans' District), Constance Mieczkowski (Town of Hadley), Edna Holloway (Town of Pelham), Donna Whiteley (Town of Southampton), and Anne Marie Knox (Town of Westhampton). Count: 11 voting members representing 12 of 37 units. Other individuals present were Council Secretary Protem and Assistant Retirement Administrator Patricia Rutkowski and Retirement Board Chairman Patrick Brock.

Upon Karen Karowski's motion and Constance Mieczkowski's second Patricia Rutkowski was appointed as Secretary Protem for the Business Meeting of December 16, 2013. Vote was unanimous.

Pursuant to the expiration of Joseph Wilhelm's term of office and the election of an active or retired member to serve as an Elected Member to the Hampshire County Retirement Board for the term of January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2016, a single candidate, Joseph Wilhelm, submitted nomination papers with the requisite signatures and addresses for the position. Pursuant to c. 32 §20(3)(h), Karen Karowski moved to declare Joseph Wilhelm to be the Elected Member to the Hampshire County Retirement Board for the term of January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2016. Constance Mieczkowski seconded the motion and the vote was unanimous.

Patrick Brock presented information on the Hampshire County Retirement System's fund performance and the environment for public pension funds.

Patrick Brock distributed the Interim January 1, 2013 Actuarial Report.

Patricia Rutkowski presented the FY15 Appropriation Reports and Assessment Estimates.

Upon Karen Karowski's nomination and Donna Whiteley's second, Lisa Banner was nominated as candidate for the position of Advisory Council Chairman. Having no other nominations, Steven Nally motioned to close the nominations. Lisa Banner was appointed as Advisory Council Chairman for the three year term of January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2016 with a 10 -1 (Lisa Banner abstained) vote.

Upon Karen Karowski's motion and Constance Mieczkowski's second the Advisory Council meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia M. Rutkowski Advisory Council Secretary Protem

Certified as accurate record of proceedings:

Chairman Lisa Banner